New York Beauty

My friend, JoAnn, and I started a new project this week. We found this New York Beauty quilt along here. Thanks to Sew Sweetness for doing this quilt along. There are nine blocks over 10 weeks. The blocks look like this. Of course, since all 10 weeks are already posted, you can go at your own pace and do all 10 weeks in one week if you want. Each of the nine block variations has a full tutorial. Here’s my fabric.

And here’s my first mistake (I’m sure it won’t be my last).

Don’t trim your blocks. You can see I lost my middle triangle. I’m so used to trimming my blocks to a certain size.  But I can’t with paper piecing.  I want my finished quilt to look something like this.

Made by Wil Opia Oguta.

Or this

Made by Janet Bauer

Check out all the other example quilts here.

Your welcome to quilt along with us.

About ladybelle

I'm a wife, mother and grandmother and I love to make things, especially sock monkeys. They're great for all kinds of gifts, birthdays, baby showers, etc. Kids love them and so do adults!! I've made many football players, including Peyton Manning, Tony Romo and Tom Brady, and character monkeys like Rainbow Brite and the Grinch. Look at some of my favorites and email me with your requests at ladybelle1234@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New York Beauty

  1. Allie says:

    That has to be my favorite, all-time block – and I doubt I’ll ever make one, lol. Maybe one day I’ll applique one!

  2. summersadie says:

    I want to quilt-a-long!

Leave a Reply

