Art Quilt??

The community service project for my quilt guild this year is the Alzheimer’s Art Quilt Initiative. The quilts are donated to this organization which then auctions them off to raise money for Alzheimer’s research. I thought an art quilt was something way out, “artsy” and knew I surely wouldn’t know how to make one. But I learned this week that according to the PBS program, “Why Quilt’s Matter,” an art quilt just means any quilt that is hung on the wall rather than put on the bed. So I gave it a try.  The quilts can be no larger than 9″ x 12″.  That’s right,  inches.

This gave me a change to do a cute Kokeshi Doll applique – design found here at Designs by JuJu.

and practice some echo quilting. This quilt finished at exactly 9″x12″

They ask that we use Fast Finish Triangles for the back to make hanging easy. A stick is inserted in these triangles and then the stick hung on a nail or picture hanger. This tutorial shows several ways to hang a wall quilt, including using a pop top from a coke can.

Well, what do you know?  I AM an art quilter.

About ladybelle

I'm a wife, mother and grandmother and I love to make things, especially sock monkeys. They're great for all kinds of gifts, birthdays, baby showers, etc. Kids love them and so do adults!! I've made many football players, including Peyton Manning, Tony Romo and Tom Brady, and character monkeys like Rainbow Brite and the Grinch. Look at some of my favorites and email me with your requests at ladybelle1234@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art Quilt??

  1. Allie says:

    Yes you are! That is super cute – I love the echo quilting and how you rounded the bottom. AWESOME!!!

  2. It’s a beautiful work of art !

Leave a Reply

