A sad day

A few weeks ago I observed a pair of bluebirds in my yard for the first time. They liked one of my birdhouses and I was so excited when they decided to make a nest in it. They worked on the nest for several days and then one day she stayed in the house with her little bird face visible through the hole. I watched her from a distance for several days and then one day she was gone. Not sure what happened. I waited for several days for her to return but she never did. So I cleaned out the house and here’s what I found.

This made me very sad. I wish I knew what it was that made her leave. Was it a predator? Did her mate fall victim to the neighborhood hawk? Was my swing too close to the birdhouse? Did they finally realize they were nesting in a woodpecker house? Did she just decide she didn’t want to be a mommy?

Alas. I will never know.  I think I’ll move the house to another location. Maybe they will try again.

Verse for the day:  Never will I leave you nor forsake you. Hebrews 13:5

About ladybelle

I'm a wife, mother and grandmother and I love to make things, especially sock monkeys. They're great for all kinds of gifts, birthdays, baby showers, etc. Kids love them and so do adults!! I've made many football players, including Peyton Manning, Tony Romo and Tom Brady, and character monkeys like Rainbow Brite and the Grinch. Look at some of my favorites and email me with your requests at ladybelle1234@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in From My Heart to Yours and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A sad day

  1. Allie says:

    Oh that is sad. Yes, try moving the birdhouse. What a PRETTY area to sit and swing!!!!

  2. summersadie says:

    Pretty eggs. Very sad.

  3. cynthia says:

    She probably got spooked by you watching everyday on her & her nesting grounds. She must have felt you were a predator watching her every move and flew away, birds are very sensitive creatures that requires space. Moving the bird house will help and observe from a far distance or just leaving it there as it is but when its being occupied maybe giving some space or pretending you dont see them and enjoy the days in the swing would help as they eventually will feel no threat by your presence, good luck! & happy viewing 🙂

  4. Liz says:

    It sure was a sad day. I like Cynthia’s idea. You have a gorgeous yard. It looks so relaxing and peaceful.

Leave a Reply

