Trying my hand at Bargello

Another class I took recently was on Bargello. Here is the book we purchased.

First, we decided on which pattern we wanted to do. I chose this one called Nebula.

Next, I had to choose 20 different fabrics.  I decided on blue and yellow since I had never made a blue quilt. They needed to graduate from light to dark.

This process is the hardest for me–so many choices. When the decisions are made the work begins.  First I made a key with a sample of all 20 fabrics showing what number each one is.

Next, I cut 2″ strips and sewed 2 separate strip sets together–1 through 10 and 11-through 20. Here is what was left of the two strip sets when I was all finished:

Below is a map of how the  strip sets get cut into different width strips and sewn together. The map looks complicated but is really very simple.

Here is a layout of what the strips should look like as your sewing them together. You’ll notice the identical rows on each side of the center. A mirror image. That makes it easy because you sew two of every row.

The final results were very good, I thought.  Better than I aimed for it to be. Now the quilting. Stay tuned.

About ladybelle

I'm a wife, mother and grandmother and I love to make things, especially sock monkeys. They're great for all kinds of gifts, birthdays, baby showers, etc. Kids love them and so do adults!! I've made many football players, including Peyton Manning, Tony Romo and Tom Brady, and character monkeys like Rainbow Brite and the Grinch. Look at some of my favorites and email me with your requests at ladybelle1234@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trying my hand at Bargello

  1. Debbie says:

    This one is beautiful too. You are so talented. Not sure which one I like best. Normally blue would win just because it’s blue but I like the colors in the stack and whack too. Anxious to see what is next. You should have one more done by the time I see you!

  2. summersadie says:

    I’m so proud of u how this turned out!

Leave a Reply

