Custom Monkeys

Sometimes when I get an order for a monkey I’m not sure how I’m going to pull off all the requests. Sock monkeys are what they are but I do my best to make them look like something else. Case in point. “I’d like a boy sock monkey who wears blue jeans

wears a mohawk hat

plays the bass guitar,

and is studying Japanese.

His wife is Asian, has long straight hair, no bangs,

wears leggings and denim skirts, and sings in church,

Oh, and could she have almond eyes and eyelashes?”

I had to research a few things. Have you ever seen a mohawk hat? And I wanted the Japanese symbol to mean something nice not something x-rated. Of course, I had to add a few of my own ideas. I made sure his underwear was showing and gave him some peace symbols. I cut the jeans out of an old pair and got the cuffs and side seams just right.  All in all I think they turned out pretty good.

About ladybelle

I'm a wife, mother and grandmother and I love to make things, especially sock monkeys. They're great for all kinds of gifts, birthdays, baby showers, etc. Kids love them and so do adults!! I've made many football players, including Peyton Manning, Tony Romo and Tom Brady, and character monkeys like Rainbow Brite and the Grinch. Look at some of my favorites and email me with your requests at ladybelle1234@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Monkeys and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Custom Monkeys

  1. summersadie says:

    Very impressive

  2. They are great. I am a traditional monkey, but I like diversity.

  3. Courtney says:

    You! Are! Amazing! These are just awesome!

Leave a Reply

